Auto accidents, crashes, and collisions are rather common on New York roads. A considerable number of such accidents are reported from Brooklyn, and the numbers are staggering. What happens if you get injured in a car accident in Brooklyn? New York, unlike a lot of other states, is a no-fault car insurance state. This means that you have to file a claim with your own insurer, to claim compensation for your damages and losses. So, what if the other driver was at fault? For that, understanding the state laws is important. Below are some of the important facts worth noting.
Reporting a car accident
All car accidents in NY must be reported. If someone was injured or killed, you must call the local police immediately. An accident report is also a must in such cases. Do not leave the accident scene without calling the police or 911, because that’s illegal. For car accidents that resulted in property damage worth $1,001 or more, you are required to file a Report of Motor Vehicle Accident form with DMV. This must be done within 10 days from the date of the accident.
The statute of limitations
In limited circumstances, you can file a civil lawsuit against the party at fault. NY’s statute of limitations allows three years to file such cases, and the count starts from the date of the accident. If the deadline has passed, the court will most certainly refuse to hear the case. If someone was killed in a crash, a wrongful death lawsuit can be pursued by the family within two years from the date of death.
The pure comparative fault rule
New York follows what is called the pure comparative fault rule. Even if you were more than 50% at fault, you can still a lawsuit against the other at-fault driver. However, your compensation will be reduced by your fault percentage. For example, if you were given $20,000 in a lawsuit and were found 40% to be at fault, you will only get $16,000 eventually.
Read more about 7starhd
Call a lawyer
Following a car accident in Brooklyn, you must call an attorney immediately. Keep in mind that getting a fair settlement, even from your own insurance company, won’t be easy, and it makes sense to have an attorney on your side. A good car accident lawyer will only work on a contingency fee, so you don’t have to pay them, until and unless they win. For more information Click here movierulz
Visit here ytmp3